I COULDN'T CAREer LESS

Job, schmob – I need a career…

POST #4: U r not the 1 we r looking 4

Call me an old traditionalist, but I do tend to think that texting someone to say they haven’t got the job and leaving it at that isn’t really the done thing. It’s akin to splitting up with someone by text; both show a lack of consideration and respect, and both can – and will – change your life.

It turns out that my A-Team on-hold script ideas weren’t enough to get me through to the second round of interviews for that job. Not that I had the opportunity to relate them, however, but I did make a good go of the exercises I was given. “Very strong” was the comment. I guess that’s something.

I’ve chased up the interviewer by email twice now. Nothing. I’m one of those people who likes to have closure, I’m afraid, so I’m still toying with the idea of pestering this person often enough that it just gets embarrassing. Not rudely – just enough to make a point that, if I am going to spend hours and hours preparing for an interview, the least I expect back is a bit of courtesy. I don’t think a few sentences which can be banged out in about one minute is too much to expect.

Say what you like about the BBC (some people are fans, some aren’t; I’m in the former category) but my recent experience of their feedback process was amazing. I went for an interview for a Content Producer role a few months ago. After being unsuccessful, the main interviewer gave me an hour and a half of his time (ie, double the length of the original interview) to go through every single answer I gave, telling me what I did well and where I could have done better. That’s perfect. I can learn from that and put the advice to good use. In fact, we got on so well that he gave me some other contacts to approach. Admittedly, none of those contacts had anything concrete for me either, but that’s down to circumstances and, dare I say, the economic climate, more than anything else. Contrast that to the text message I’ve just got; what a difference!

Regarding this latest interview, I did wonder when I first arrived whether I was a bit too mainstream for what was clearly a funky agency. I had toned down the suited interview look to “nice shirt, nice trousers, nice shoes” but given that my interviewer was wearing Converse All-Stars, I wonder whether she took one look at me and thought, “no, doesn’t fit the brand. Too clean.”

Again, call me an old traditionalist, but am I wrong to look like I’ve made an effort with my interview attire? Surely not. But then I’m usually better dressed than my interviewers and I’ve had a total of, er…one very successful interview (ie, the job I’m currently trying to leave). So maybe I need to be more hip and happening. I appreciate that it’s very much dependent on what sort of job one is going for. A city banker is hardly going to turn up in jeans any more than a fitness trainer is going to turn up in a suit. But what is the ideal middle ground which I seem to be getting wrong? Are jeans actually acceptable these days? Maybe for a funky creative agency, that’s exactly what I should have worn. Ah, but then, which brand? Paul Smith over Levi’s, I would guess.

Luckily, I have both.

November 26, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Texting a rejection is utterly lousy. U have been dissed, m8.

    But take heart in the fact that if that is how they do business, you probably wouldn’t have felt too much at home there.

    I’ve always thought you can’t be overdressed for almost any occasion. I’m beginning to think I may be wrong. But I don’t think I want to participate in those occasions where I am wrong!

    Here’s to the next attempt. Good luck!

    Comment by Chris | November 26, 2009 | Reply

  2. Mate, I’ll knit you something funky to wear and that will show them..

    Comment by Noel | November 26, 2009 | Reply

  3. I once turned up for an interview for some troubled youth type thing in a suit, which was clearly wrong, and spent the most painful day after which I was told I didn’t get the job – despite the fact that there were no other candidates!! None of the other candidates had arrived much to the interviewers’ (yes, plural) disgust, so maybe they had got news of something – and in the end I no doubt had a lucky escape. Thank god for the wrong clothes I say!!

    Comment by Kath | January 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

